The Dark Night

This was my first painting using a back canvas. That is, I took a white canvas, covered it with black acrylic, and let it dry. Then, instead of a liquid white base, I think this one used a liquid clear or coat of blue for the base wet color.

img_0241

I really like the moon behind the clouds in this one. I think that was a spectacular effect. The mountains came out just the right shade too, in my opinion.

The white snow and ice, though, are too bright. The ones in front definitely need to be more muted.

Pine trees came out ok for being completely dark, but that bush behind the cabin is crashing over it like a wave. The others aren’t too horrible.

That reflection on the right doesn’t match the bush above it.

Cabin looks fine, for my standards that is.

Looks better in person than it does in the picture.

2 thoughts on “The Dark Night

Leave a comment