A study in brown

Next up was a scene that primarily featured browns.

img_0238

I really like the sky in this one. I was very hesitant to use brown as the background sky color, but using just a small amount and blending created a fantastic fade and overcast feel. The little sun worked as well. I just used my fingertip to do that.

This is also the first time that the clouds I did with the fan brush came out as I wanted. I probably didn’t do enough of them, but I didn’t want to overpower the sky with them, either.

The background hill was nothing to write home about, but the (mistake) angle I painted them in with gives the impression of wind. At least, to me it does.

The deciduous trees, all two of them, turned out better than before. The cabin too. The bare background trees worked well, if sparse.

In the front, the big bare snag looked great to me. Until someone pointed out that it looks like it is floating, as I didn’t bother to add a trunk to it or blend the grass up into it. I’ll try not to make that mistake again.

I liked the little fence over by there as well. And the path. Some might not, but I really don’t care.

I thought the grass field looked wonderful compared to some of my previous adventures. I feel like there is actually uneven ground there and that the grass is reflecting that.

Currently this is still one of my favorite paintings, even with the issues it has.

Leave a Reply

