Four

So here is the fourth one. I think. Early on, I did not mark them as to which was done in what order, or the date I did them. I know it was a Saturday night. I could probably go back and troll through my email to try to figure it out, but I don’t really want to. I am fairly certain this was the fourth one, though.

img_0233

The background mountains were not detailed like they normally are, using the knife to define/ice them. As such, I did not like them as much. I find I really like doing the mountains with the ice caps and snow. There’s something very pleasing about it. I don’t know what it is, but I find Zen/Tao there.

The very faint background/light brown trees turned out well. I managed to snake in a trunk for one, and I think that sold me on those.

The pine trees look a little better in this one. Still not great, but not intolerable. At least they are snow-frosted.

The brown deciduous on the left looks ok, but I’m not a fan of the color. There is at least a trunk, and a couple of snags to the right on the spit of land. Those inspired some future snags you’ll see.

This painting featured my first attempt at a cabin. I had a hell of a time doing it. I think I scraped it off three times before I got this version. Too much mud. And the roof looks like a ragged mess to me. I tried to knife in a door and window. Not sure you can tell that from here.

Then we come to the water feature. The water’s color is fine in and of itself. There is even a bit of reflection of the trees. But I jacked up the Liquid White on the water edge. One, it’s too thick. Guess I wasn’t using the bare edge of the knife. Two, it’s not level. As a friend who gives me honest criticism said, “the only truly perfectly horizontal line in nature is water.” I failed pretty big on that score. Oh well. Live and learn.

Until next time, where we will see a study of brown, take care.

-mox

2 thoughts on “Four

Leave a Reply

